Research

My current writing project, transiently titled Sever/Us, features a paramedic as the main character. Having no experience or knowledge of the medical field whatsoever, my fidelity to accuracy and authenticity demanded that I reach out to someone possessed of what I was not. In this modern era we are blessed with search engines and easily accessible online archives that can answer a multitude of questions covering, I think literally, anything an author could come up with.

I absolutely love research, even when it wanders far and away from where you started or where you thought you wanted to go. It is exceptionally easy online to read an article, follow a link and learn something new that you might get inspired by, or you might bookmark in case you need it again someday, one day. I have a minor collection of reference books, many of which I’ve never read more than a couple of pages in, but it is mollifying to know I could have a citation at my fingertips if I need to know what the history of a symbol could be, if I need to pick a poem I don’t yet know, if I need to know where an herb grows best.

For years I have believed there is no better source than first-hand experience, but there is a limit to what one can do with their own hands, especially when you’re something of a desk-bound recluse. Second to that would be consulting an expert or someone with the experience you don’t have; also something of a challenge when you’re an introverted, desk-bound recluse. I have found refuge in fantasy writing, which does not demand the same authenticity of reality but now…now I have wanted to change that.

A couple of weeks ago I made use of the internet once more and reached out to a local community, formed around NaNoWriMo, in search of a paramedic. To my delight I received two positive responses: a woman who had gone to school to be a paramedic, and another whose sister was a paramedic. I met with “D” last Saturday the 19th (forgoing my favorite meal option, no less) and was fulfilled beyond my happiest imaginings. Based on the structuring of my story, what I felt I needed most would not be readily available through Google, the answer to ‘what is it like?’

Diana even drew a map for me!

“D” even drew a map for me!

D gave to me information, delightful anecdotes, disturbing scenarios and a wealth of inspiration (as well as a neat little sketch!) along with no small amount of humor. When  you read this, I cannot begin to express my appreciation for the time you gave me, for ignoring your husband, for your insights. Even if none of it had been usable for this story, I cannot recall the last time I felt so contented with the universe. Thank you.

Research, do it. People, ask them. Their generosity may surprise you, their knowledge will enrich you, and their experience is valuable. It can be scary to talk to someone you don’t know, to solicit them for the contents of their mind. My suggestion is to set up a reinforcing reward for yourself; even if the meeting doesn’t pan out, if you went outside of your comfort zone, that deserves acknowledgement, and your effort may earn you a friend.

One thought on “Research

Leave a comment